Plans…

So after many months of doctors, and waiting, and waiting for doctors, and tests, and waiting some more, I’ve finally arrived at the diagnoses:

A.) I had torn my meniscus (cartilage around the knee cap) in my left knee last September, and also sprained the ligament in the back of the same knee (PCL). Lactic acid retention in the knee has hindered the healing process. But slowly it has healed, without needing an operation. I’ve gradually started to walk, then scuttle, and now run. -Albeit not far or fast! Ha. Thank the Lord!

B.) I just got an MRI test done on my right shoulder last week. I’ve been enduring pain from the shoulder all the way down the arm since June 2008. The test results haven’t come in yet, so we’ll still have to see about that one.

I would really appreciate your prayers for complete healing in both my left knee and right arm. Thank you so much!

Meanwhile, I’ve been doing a lot of praying and counseling, and making plans, then changing those plans, again and again. I’m sure many people in TFI have been going through the same process at this time. I’m not complaining about it, as I know it’s needed, and as Maria said in “To the Mission!”, it’s clear that things aren’t going to be the same, and it’s a good time for each of us to adjust our compass, as needed, to make sure that we’re in the place the Lord wants us. I agree with her and Peter that even though so much is changing, there are still a few things I know for certain:

  1. I want to serve Jesus to the best of my ability.
  2. I want to help others in a big way.
  3. I believe that working on the mission field in TFI is the best way that I can accomplish both of the above.

So, I’m off to Taiwan at the end of the month! I never really thought I would be going back there, but it is a pleasant surprise! I’ll be there for a couple months visiting friends, and then it’s back home to South Africa. It’s a shame I had to conveniently miss the World Cup, but I know that the Lord has His hand in everything, so PTL anyways.

That’s as far as I’ve gotten for now. Jono will be coming to join me in a few months, Lord willing. We’re not 100% sure that SA is the place for us, so I’ll be going ahead first to sus it out, and pray about it further. I really do love that mission field, as the witnessing there is phenomenal! I guess we’ll see as we go along. It’s very typical of the way that the Lord works in my life to not give me the full picture right away. Maybe He just doesn’t like me to bite off more than I can chew.

Surprisingly, for the first time, I’m actually more excited than worried. That’s a nice feeling. Thank You Jesus. 🙂

In other news:

GO BRAZIL! Heh. 😛

2 responses to “Plans…

Leave a Reply

