Looking Back on 2009

My Lord, 2009 went by incredibly fast! I guess time flies when you’re running around in circles! Ha ha. I’ve been from one side of the globe to the other, been up and down dramatic emotional roller coasters, been slapped to the ground and into hospitals, been stretched to the edge of my faith, and yet it feels like I’m right back at square one again.

So, to fight the Emo Kingdom of Great Despair, I’ve decided to write up a list of everything wonderful and stellar that happened to me last year. — Kind of an impromptu/therapeutic praise time of sorts… ๐Ÿ˜›

Okay, here we go:

1.) On the very first day of the year, I began a week-long cruise to the Caribbean islands together with a gazillion people that I love and enjoy being around.

2.) I visited the Bixler Farm in Georgia and learned a few things about guns, fishing and bailing hay.

3.) I moved to South Africa! It was one of the hardest – and one of the best – decisions I’ve ever had to make. Through this move I have learned heaps that I would have never learned otherwise, no doubt about it. I’ve now also met and gotten to know a whole new slew of wonderful people, some of whom are fast becoming close friends!

4.) I took a road trip to Botswana, which was cultural, scary, and faith building!

5.) Lizzi came to live with me! Yay! ๐Ÿ™‚ Life has been 200% better with you around, my sweet baby sister! Finally someone who laughs at all my corny Farmer jokes, as you sigh and smile in just the perfect way, especially when it feels like no one else understands me at all…

6.) I had a dramatic month-and-a-half of a silly crush on one of my best friends. And though I’m glad that’s over with, it still brings a chuckle out of me in a funny kind of way, and so makes it to the list of highlights! ๐Ÿ˜›

7.) Some good friends came and visited from far away countries bearing gifts! – And we had lovely rowdy friendish times together.

8.) The FDTP was held nearby and I got to help out and witness with the teens. They’re a great group of sweethearts and I still miss them!

9.) Our Home was plagued by the mumps for two loooong months! Even though during the quarantine period I murmured about it every single day, now that I think about it, that sickness helped us to get closer as a Home and a team. – And we had a lot of fun too! So, PTL for that!

10.) Another Romans 8:28 praise was that I had an accident with my leg during football. It’s not clear what’s wrong with it yet, but it’s still in a lot of pain. The Lord has promised that it will all work out for good, so I’m listing it here as part of what I’m thankful for this last year.

11.) I turned 25! – Which didn’t end up being as terrifying as first thought. Thank God! One good thing is now that I’m old and wise, I can feel all justified in passing on advice to others. However, one bad thing is that no one else seems to agree with me… ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

12.) I flew back here to Canada to work on paperwork and visit a doctor for my leg. I’ve been able to hang out with old friends, some of whom I haven’t seen in almost 10 years!

13.) I performed with Michael Piano for the Christmas season! It was very embarrassing for the first few shows, but soon I was crooning away obliviously! Being able to work with such a talented musician was a special gift from the Lord. Michael is simply amazing! End of story.

14.) Spending Christmas and NY’s with my sisters and their significant others was also a lovely and unexpected treat! TYJ. We’ve all changed over these last years, but once in awhile we’ll still have a good ol’ Farmer sister moment, and those are swiftly tucked away in my album of memories for a rainy lonely day.

15.) I got to see Priya! ๐Ÿ˜€ She had a 7-hour layover here in Toronto, much to our delight! It was sooooooo good to see you, my dearest! I hope you love your prezzie! (And me too, of course!) Write me, woman!

๏ปฟ

16.) Aaaaand….I fell in love! :O Ha ha ha, I know, I know. What the heck? Well, Jono and I decided that we love each other and want to try to make it work as a couple. It quite frankly freaks me out, not gonna lie. I wouldn’t normally blog about something like this, but since it’s a new year and a time to start new traditions and trends, I thought I could just step out of that box I’ve made for myself, and go crazy. Why not? I just hope you know what you’re getting into, Babes. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Ha ha.

So, that was 2009. Sigh. ๐Ÿ™‚

4 responses to “Looking Back on 2009

  1. Aww…I love you! I was so absolutely glad to see you even though it was the middle of the night. Thanks again!

    And good on you for being in love, it’s a risk but it’s well worth it, and I hope I can meet this dude some time and check him out…

  2. Wow, That’s quite a list! –Can’t believe we didn’t make it on there, sniff, but hey … I still luv ya ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Btw… #16… wow. Congrats! Who woulda thot? Joyce, in love… AND admitting it? ๐Ÿ˜›

    Happy 2010 girl!

  3. I knew you were gonna say that. I’m posting a separate post for you guys with the pics we took. Chill! I love you more! ๐Ÿ˜› And stop making fun of me! Ha ha…

  4. Congrats Joyce! I’m so happy for you, anyone who can capture your heart must be a very special guy. I miss you!

Leave a Reply

