Enter South Africa!

So, here I am. It’s been one week now, but I haven’t been able to get online to update, because let’s just say, the internet connection here leaves much to be desired. – Africa, go figure, right?

We had a very eventful couple of connecting flights to finally get here. It’s actually a huge miracle we even made it. TYJ! We got from San Antonio to Atlanta just fine. But then they canceled our flight from Atlanta to DC, from which we had a flight to Johannesburg. We were finally able to get on a flight to a different DC airport for no extra charge, but then they told us that our luggage was stuck on our last plane, and it was “impossible to move it!” Thank God that with Him there are NO impossibilities, and thank Crit for his persevering ways. Many desperate prayers were prayed (Thank you to Liz Forsberg, especially!), a few phone calls were made to the top boss, and favors called in on the ground. We also had to take an $80 taxi ride from Reagan to Dulles, and loaded and unloaded our bags on and off the plane and trolleys at least 5 times. I was actually alot more on-edge than I let on. But I reckoned that two stressed-out passengers couldn’t help matters any more than one. Cheers to my Angel of Conscience, ha ha. Nah, I’m kidding. Crit was amazing! I’m so thankful for his company and his calculating mind. I couldn’t have done it without you, Crit. I’d most likely still be stuck in Atlanta by now, sitting on the steps weeping! Anyways, after 48 full hours of traveling, and about all of Murphy’s Law that I could handle,  voila, here we are! – Plus our luggage, which equals every single material possession we own in the whole world! PTL.

I like South Africa so far. It’s very different from how I thought it would be. I haven’t been out much yet, because we just had the FEAST (completely awesome, btw! If you haven’t had it yet, prepare to be excited now! 🙂 ) and we also have…ta dum, the mumps! Argh…we’re gonna miss out on what would have been my first party here, but PTL. Quarantine has its benefits too, such as more time to get to know my extremely sweet new Home members here. I already love them to pieces! 🙂

I went out last night for my first taste of fundraising here, and had a blast. I asked everyone I knew in the world and their brother to pray for me, because I was scared out of my mind to go out at night here. Those prayers must have worked. I met heaps of wonderful people. South Africans are inherently polite and sweet. Thank the Lord.

Crit has all the photos that I would have posted of our last night in Texas and all the travel pics, and for that I apologize. I can’t see him until the quarantine period is over, so you’ll have to wait on those. And even then, pray that I get the patience to sit here for hours while they upload…

I miss you, Texanites, more than you know! I wish I could show you by giving you all a super tight squeeze and strangling you with my love! 😛 But, yeah, I guess that will have to wait until I perchance get lucky enough to see you again. Until then, please know you are terribly missed, and keep in touch! xxx

Leave a Reply

