The Secret to Happiness

Mama: So when you’re called to a job or ministry that is not your personal favorite, it helps to remember what’s really important. Being in the Lord’s will is what’s most important; that’s the secret to happiness. Contrary to the way we look at things sometimes, we are never happiest when we’re doing what we want to do when that calling is not the Lord’s highest will for us. We’re happiest and most blessed when we’re doing what He wants us to do, even if it’s a sacrifice of our own dreams and ambitions.

Jesus: Remember that My highest compliment goes to the man who is faithful where I place him, filling his spot with honor. When you come to Heaven to receive your great reward, do you remember what I’m going to tell you? “Well done, thou good and faithful servant!” So what’s the one title you will carry with you from Earth into Heaven?–Servant! (TWT 7 ML#3596)

Realizing that wherever I am, if I’m in God’s will, that it’s the highest place of service I can be in right now, is a huge relief for me. I want to be where God wants me, of course. I want to be in His highest will, but I always feel like I could be doing more, I could be giving more, and that right now, I’ve just been filling in, not really challenging myself, not really doing my best. But, while I could always stand to progress and indeed do more, knowing that I am living and fulfilling His highest calling for me right now, in what I’m doing here, lifts a considerable amount of pressure.

As long as I’m serving You, I’m good. I don’t need to be doing something “special” or “extra important” to be making You happy. Thank You Jesus, for letting me in on this little secret… 🙂


img_1257.jpg

Leave a Reply

