The Greatest Thing You’ll Ever Learn…

I’ve had this grand plan for Valentine’s Day for about a week now. Knowing my uncontrollable procrastination habits, I determined that this year, I was actually going to do something for Valentine’s Day – something nice, that is. Ha.

The Plan:

Cut out hearts from red construction paper and write “Happy Valentine’s Day! I love you!” on them in gold pen. Then put one in everyone’s rooms, accompanied by a Ferrero Rocher chocolate. Simple.

The Destruction of “the Plan”:

I woke up this morning with my “plan” firmly rooted in my mind, and the intention of seeing it through, just later. However, when I came back to my room this morning after a quick chat with someone in the hallway, lo and behold, what did I find but a small red heart on my bed, with “Happy Valentine’s Day!” written on it in gold pen. And sitting next to this lovely cut-out was none other than a Ferrero Rocher chocolate!!!

Dear Priya, I love you. That’s all I wanted to say. Thank you for your Valentine’s gift. I’m not sweet, and I’m not poetic. I’m not thoughtful, and I’m obviously not very quick! 😛 But thank you for loving me anyways, and thank you for being there for me – now and always. I would ask you to be mine, but I know that someone else has already taken my place in your heart…

bxp42795.jpg
***

So, to my Husband and only true Valentine on this unpredictable roller coaster of a day:

I know that You wanted me to be Yours on this day and every day. I know that You probably had great plans for us and what we would do. I’m sorry that I was just a little too busy for You. I’m sorry that I was looking around for someone else to show me love instead of finding You and loving You up. I’m sorry that I’m not the kind of wife or lover I should be and whom You deserve. 😦 I’m sorry that no matter what precious gifts you give me, I seem to scorn them and take them for granted. I’m sorry that I fall more often than rise to the challenges You put before me. You’re always there to pick me back up, and love me unconditionally… I am indebted to You forever.
I know I’m not very strong, but I am a fighter. I do care and I will try harder to always be there for You, like You always are for me. I know I’m foolish, and I’m silly (as sweet Laura has reminded me… 😀 ). I know I can be a whole lot of trouble and I know that You know I’m crazy. Ha! But, thank You for putting up with me, when no one else can. Thank You for being all I have when all I have is gone. Thank You for teaching me to love, and be loved in return…

465.jpg

The greatest thing you’ll ever learn is just to love, and be loved in return.

Leave a Reply

